Contenders shortlisted for prestigious RIBA Research Medal design competition

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (20 August) announced the shortlisted candidates for the competition to design the new RIBA Research Medal. 

The shortlist for the RIBA Research Medal Design Competition is as follows:

• Abigail Burt
• Hugo Maciel
• Mary Gregoriy
• Nicola Moss and Simon Beeson
• Kate Ive
• Petra Gross

The RIBA received a high number of submissions to the international competition with entries from architects, designers, sculptors and specialist medal-makers and jewellers. After anonymising each submission, a Judging Panel assessed each entrant based on a brief proposal and portfolio of previous work.

The Judging Panel for both stages consists of:

Stephen Hodder (RIBA President and Chairman of Hodder and Partners), Jane Duncan (RIBA President Elect), Philip Attwood (Keeper of Coins and Medals, British Museum; President of the International Art Medal Federation, FIDEM; President of the British Art Medal Society), Charles Hind (RIBA Chief Curator and H J Heinz Curator of Drawings), Flora Samuel (Chair of RIBA Research and Innovation Group), Ruth Morrow (Chair of RIBA Research Awards Panel), Juliet Leach (RIBA Brand and Marketing Manager) and Anne Dye (RIBA Head of Technical Research).

After their initial submission, the shortlisted candidates will now produce further developed designs for the judging panel to consider in September. Shortlisted candidates will receive honoraria of £250, and the overall winner will receive a prize of £2,000. The Medal will be awarded to the overall winner of the President’s Awards for Research (out of the winners of each of the four categories, Masters, PhD, University-led, and Practice-led) at a special ceremony in December. All final shortlisted designs will be available on an online gallery after the winner has been determined.

RIBA continues an established history of commissioning and awarding medals following RIBA past President and co-founder Thomas Leverton Donaldson’s long held interest in architectural medals. The RIBA has previously commissioned a number of medals designed by eminent sculptors and craftsmen including the late-nineteenth/early-twentieth century leader of the ‘New Sculpture’ movement, George Frampton, and Langford Jones.

The Chair of the Judging Panel and RIBA President Stephen Hodder said:

“The judges were delighted with the response to this exciting competition to design a new Medal for the RIBA. We encourage the candidates to visit the RIBA, to understand particularly the rich research programmes run and supported by us, and to design a contemporary, forward-looking medal which reflects the continued growth of this important part of our activity.”

– Ends –

Notes to editors

1. For more information or interview requests, members of the press should contact: Gagandeep Bedi, Press Officer, RIBA: 020 7307 3814

2. The Awards champion high-quality research, raise the profile of architects and academics engaged in research and highlight the need for research across the profession to foster innovation and strategic thinking.

3. Academia queries about the award should be sent to email

4. Abigail Burt

BAMS New Medalist, 2013. Talented young medallist who has completed a number of prestigious commissions including a commemorative medal for The British Museum, and who is currently in the process of completing a commission for The United Guilds Service of St Paul’s Cathedral.

5. Hugo Maciel

Another young but highly accomplished medallist from Portugal, who has exhibited and lectured widely on the subject of medals and medal-making. Prominent commissions include Commemorative Medal of the International Year of Cooperatives and Commemorative Medal of the 500th Anniversary of the Birth of Amato Lusitano, Edition INCM – Portuguese Mint, Lisbon, Portugal, Commemorative Medal Bishop D. Gilberto, Edition GRAVARTE, Lisbon, Portugal, Commemorative Medal of the National Prize of Journalism University – PNJU, Lisbon, Portugal.

6. Mary Gregoriy

Artist and educator, who has recently produced coins commemorating eminent literary figures, W B Yeats and James Joyce as well as the Rock of Cashel and more abstract representations, for instance the theme of Irish influence on Celtic Culture in Europe, all for the Central Bank of Ireland.

7. Nicola Moss and Simon Beeson

Nicola Moss is an established medal maker, whose work includes medals for the British Art Medal Society (George and the Dragon 1986, Mamoo 2008), St. Dunstan Millennium Medal (The Worshipful Company of Goldsmiths, 1988), Turtle Island Medal (Special Award, College of Architecture and Landscape Architecture University of Minnesota, 1991 – cast bronze on ribbon, with box), and the Ondaatje Prize for Portraiture, (The Royal Society of Portrait Painters, 1996). Her work is found in collections internationally, including Department of Coins and Medals, British Museum, V&A, The National Museum of Scotland, Smithsonian Institute (Washington DC, USA) and Munzkainett, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Simon Beeson Simon Beeson is an architect, educator, public artist and sculptor. His medallic work includes Linlithgow Threshold (2002) commissioned the British Art Medal Society. He has created collaborative medallic works with Nicola Moss, notably Ice Fishing (1993) and Grain Elevator (1995). In 1997 he designed the Simmons Gallery for coins and medals in Lambs Conduit Street, London. Recent plaster reliefs and sculptures were exhibited as part of Building Walden, ArtSway 2014.

8. Kate Ive

Kate Ive is a medal maker and sculptor working from her studio at the Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop (ESW). In 2011, she was selected as the British Art Medal Society’s ‘BAMS’ New Medallist 2011-12.’ Her work is found in a range of eminent public and private collections including the British Museum, Royal Mint Museum, American Numismatic Society in New York and the University Museum of Bergen, Norway.

9. Petra Gross

Petra Gross also won the BAMS student Medal award while studying Fine Art Sculpture at Falmouth, and
further researched medals at the British Museum, the Royal Mint, and in Bulgaria with Bogomil Nikolov.

10. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) champions better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members

11. Follow us on Twitter for regular RIBA updates

Posted on Thursday 20th August 2015

Source link


Latest Issue

BDC 317 : Jun 2024