Eleven buildings shortlisted for RIBA South East 2016 Awards

Eleven buildings have been shortlisted for RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) South East 2016 Awards. There were 32 buildings entered in the region, which covers Kent, Surrey and East and West Sussex and the Channel Islands.

The buildings that have been shortlisted for RIBA South East Awards this year are:


Restoration of St Edward’s Presbytery, Ramsgate by Thomas Ford & Partners

Ashes Folly, Kent by Richard Hopkinson Architects

North Vat, Kent by Rodic Davidson Architects

East Sussex:

The Attenborough Centre for the Creative Arts, University of Brighton by R H Partnership Architects

Gateway Café, Peacehaven by Kaner Olette Architects

Cinque Ports Street, Rye by Jonathan Dunn Architects

New House, Hadlow Down East Sussex by BBM Sustainable Design

Coast House, East Sussex by Cassion Castle Architects

The Narrow House, East Sussex by Sanei Hopkins Architects

Private house, East Sussex by WAM – Walker and Martin Architects


Le Petit Fort, Jersey by Hudson Architects.

All shortlisted buildings will be assessed by a regional jury with the winning buildings announced at an Awards evening and reception at Ascot Racecourse on Thursday 28 April.

Regional Award winners will be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, the results of which will be announced in June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings later in the year.


Notes to editors:

  1. For further information and access to high res press images please contact Jenny Peterson, 0750 146 6648
  2. Details of the private houses shortlisted for RIBA Awards are confidential at this stage.
  3. Sponsors for the RIBA South/South East Awards evening on 28 April include Ibstock, Marley Eternit, SIKA and Tarmac.
  4. Tickets for the RIBA South/South East Awards evening, open to all, cost £95+VAT each. Ticket includes reception, three-course dinner and Awards presentations. To book, contact
  5. RIBA Awards have run continuously since 1966 and are judged and presented locally.  No matter the shape, size, budget or location, RIBA Award-winning schemes set the standard for great architecture all across the country. RIBA Awards are for buildings in the UK by RIBA Chartered Architects and RIBA International Fellows.
  6. The RIBA Awards 2016 are kindly sponsored by

7. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) champions better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members.


Posted on Wednesday 9th March 2016

Source link


Latest Issue

BDC 316 : May 2024