RIBA invites entries for the 2015 President's Awards for Research

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (18 May) announced a welcoming call for entries for the 2015 RIBA President’s Awards for Research. This year will also see the award of the inaugural RIBA President’s Research Medal, presented for the best judged research from across all four categories. The deadline for submissions is Monday 8 June 2015 at 5pm.

The four categories for the Awards are:

• University and Professional Research Organisation
• Practice (including practices with professional research divisions)
• PhD
• Master’s – each academic school can submit up to 2 Master’s dissertations per year. The Master’s course should be a research degree (e.g. an MA or MSc) and not a professional qualification (i.e. it cannot be a course that is validated, or is eligible to be validated, for RIBA Part 2).

RIBA President Stephen Hodder said:

“I’m delighted to announce the opening of the 2015 RIBA President’s Awards for Research. I am particularly pleased with the inauguration of the President’s Medal for Research; this award will help to give recognition to the ever increasing importance of research to architecture and our industry.”

Anne Dye, RIBA Head of Technical Research, said:

“These Awards promote research and researchers that contribute new knowledge and understanding to architecture. They highlight the need for knowledge and insight that nurtures innovation, quality, value and strategic thinking.

“This year we have widened the eligibility to include research from across the built environment and beyond, better reflecting the diverse interdisciplinary nature of architectural research.”

To enter:

– Ends –


1. For further press information contact Gagandeep Bedi, RIBA Press Office 020 7307 3814

2. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) champions better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members

3. For the 2015 awards, the eligibility period for entries has been extended in all categories to research completed between May 2013 and May 2015. Due to the extended eligibility period, work submitted to the 2014 Awards may be submitted again in 2015.

4. All those conducting architectural and built environment research related to architecture and the practice of architecture are eligible to enter the RIBA President’s Awards for Research. These include, but are not limited to: RIBA Members, RIBA Chartered Practices, architects at non-RIBA practices, professionals from other built environment disciplines, students and academics at RIBA validated or non-validated schools of architecture, students and academics from non-architectural academic schools, professional research organisations.

5. Follow us on Twitter for regular RIBA updates

Posted on Monday 18th May 2015

Source link


Latest Issue

BDC 305 Jun 2023