Winners of the 2015 RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarships Announced

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and The Wren Insurance Association Limited (the Wren) the architects’ professional indemnity insurance mutual, have announced five 2015 RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarships. Each winner will receive £5,000 for the last year of their Part 2 course in architecture and the opportunity to be mentored by a member of the Wren.

The 2015 winners are:

• Ruxandra Maria Gruioniu from University College London
• Lilly Ingleby from the University of Sheffield
• Johnny Lui from the Royal College of Art
• Alexander Mills from De Montfort University
• Charles Proctor from the Royal College of Art

RIBA President Stephen Hodder said:

“I’m delighted that this scheme continues to recognise young, outstanding talent within our profession. Through a significant financial contribution to their studies, and the opportunity to be mentored throughout the last year of their Part 2, I have no doubt that these students will make the most of this exciting prospect and look forward to seeing how they progress in their future career.”

Richard Pullen, Chairman of Wren, said:

“I am delighted to announce that Ruxandra Maria Gruioniu, Lilly Ingleby, Johnny Lui, Alexander Mills and Charles Proctor are the winners of this year’s RIBA Wren Scholarships. Our insurance mutual, having enjoyed over 25 successful years, is continuing to mark its quarter century by making available a scholarship fund of £25,000 per year to Part 2 students at a time when the cost of qualification can be overwhelming. We are also offering the successful students the opportunity of being mentored by some of the UK’s leading architectural firms. The Wren Members, having helped each other for so long, feel it is appropriate to support and encourage the next generation of talented architects who have the potential to make a significant contribution to the field of architecture.”


Notes to editors

1. For further press information please contact Gagandeep Bedi in the RIBA Press Office on 020 7307 3814 or email
2. To download images of this year’s recipients and copies of their portfolios please visit:  
3. The scholarship scheme was created in 2013 as part of the Wren’s 25th anniversary celebrations. For more information about the Wren see The recipients of funding were selected after an initial shortlisting stage followed by individual interviews with a judging panel.
4. The judging panel consisted of: Chris Bennie (TP Bennett), Luke Butcher (member of the RIBA Education Trust Funds Committee), Jonathan Hall (Allford Hall Monaghan Morris), Tony Poole (Sheppard Robson Architects LLP), Clare Richards (member of the RIBA Education Trust Funds Committee). David Gloster, Director of Education at RIBA was present as independent moderator of the judging process.
5. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) champions better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members. Visit and follow us on Twitter.

Posted on Monday 20th July 2015

Source link


Latest Issue

BDC 305 Jun 2023