International Safety Awards Will Be Held on the 5th of May 2017

The International Safety Awards will be held on the 5th of May 2017. The Gala dinner event will be held at the Grosvenor House in London. There will be two individual awards handed out by the British Safety council for the fifth year running. These special awards will be given for the Health and Safety Champion of the Year and for the Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year.

The awards are given out in order to celebrate the work of non-health and safety professionals that have played important roles in order to keep their colleagues safe while at work. The awards will be given to recognise exceptional performance of individuals that have played a part on the health and safety practices in their workplace.

The two awards are the Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award in which organisations are able to nominate employees that are aged 25 and over; and the Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award which will be awarded to and employee who is aged between 16 at 24.

This year it is thought that 136 different organisations have nominated individual employees for these two awards. The applicants for the awards are from a variety of different industries as well as originating from a wide range of companies. Applications were made from organisations in the United Kingdom, Africa and Asia as well as the Middle East and the West Indies.

There has been a shortlist for the awards released. The Health and Safety Champion Award Shortlist includes: Colin Nivison from Glaxosmithkline Services Unlimited, Project Engineering Management; Innes Alexander from Mace International Qatar; Kenny Maddock, BAE Systems Naval Ships; Kieren McCafferty, Walker Construction in Kent; Andrew Kettrick, Bachy Soletanche Ltd and Stephen Wilkinson from Addison Lee in London. The Shortlist for the Young Health and Safety Champion consists of: Ben Ealey-Newman, from Cobham Antenna Systems; Ravi Kumar Sharma, L&T Construction; Shri Ajay Kumar Behara, Indian Oil Corporation Limited; Sophie Harwood from Waldeck Consulting; Tom Arkley, Wilmott Dixon Interiors Ltd and Venkatesh Kannan A, from Larson and Toubro Limited.


Latest Issue

BDC 314 : Mar 2024