Home building body Homes for Scotland (HFS) has announced the shortlist for its 2022 awards programme as it plans for a return to the largest annual gathering of its kind where winners will be announced. 

With a focus on “going the extra mile” to deliver developments or practices which stand out from the crowd, those companies making the judges’ first cut are:

Development of the Year – large (100+ units) sponsored by Hacking and Paterson   Barratt and David Wilson Homes
The Strand, Edinburgh   CCG (with South Lanarkshire Council hub South West)
Whitlawburn Regeneration, Glasgow   Link Group & McTaggart Construction
Riverside Dalmarnock, Glasgow Places for People
Chapelton, Aberdeenshire Springfield Properties
Bertha Park, Perth Stewart Milne Group
Dunnottar Park, Stonehaven
  Development of the Year – medium (26-99 units)
sponsored by VELUX CALA Homes (East)
Boroughmuir Phase 2, Edinburgh   CCG (with City of Edinburgh Council)
Bingham Avenue, Edinburgh   Cruden Homes (East)
Bonnington Mill, Edinburgh Lovell Partnerships
Claish Farm, Stirlingshire Westpoint Homes
One Hyndland Avenue, Glasgow Whiteburn Projects
Caerlee Mill Phase 2, Innerleithen     Development of the Year – small (up to 25 units)
sponsored by Openreach
Cruden Homes (East)
Muirwood Gardens Phase 1, Kinross   Hadden Homes
Glenluie Green, Perthshire    Panacea Homes
The Primary, GlasgowRural Renaissance
Darnick Green, Melrose
      Innovation of the Year (Transition to Net Zero)
sponsored by Shoosmiths     Barratt Developments
The Z House   Pixel
Online selection systems Stewart Milne Group with Barratt Developments and Forster Group
AIMCH Project
    Associate Member of the Year
sponsored by Anderson Strathern
    Winner announced at the HFS Annual Lunch, with no prior shortlist released    

With last year seeing an amalgamated 2020/21 shortlist and virtual awards showcase due to restrictions caused by the pandemic, updates to 2022 categories include a focus on the transition to net zero within the Innovation of the Year category – designed to showcase examples of real innovation within the sector as it contributes to a national commitment of net zero emissions by 2045.

In a further change, no prior shortlist has been released for the Associate Member of the Year category, with members of the HFS senior management team asked to nominate candidates within the HFS membership who have gone the extra mile, engaging with the organisation’s work and providing vital support to other members over the course of the year.

Reflecting the programme’s ongoing robust judging process, the independent panel will be undertaking site visits to all those shortlisted in the Development of the Year categories alongside corresponding online interviews to determine who will take one of three headline Home Builder of the Year awards.  Those shortlisted under the Innovation of the Year (Transition to Net Zero) category will also be invited to an online interview.

Winners will be revealed at the Homes for Scotland Annual Lunch (sponsored by Burness Paull) at the EICC on Friday 20 May which will be hosted by impressionist and comedian Jon Culshaw.  Over 900 senior industry representatives and guests are already confirmed to attend what remains the date in the Scottish home building industry calendar.

Chair of the independent judging panel David Knight, former Managing Director at Avant Homes said:

“I was delighted to be asked to Chair this year’s refreshed judging panel and have been hugely impressed by the demonstrations of “going above and beyond” which have been evident throughout the entries received. 

“Whether that be examples of innovation, diversity, sustainability measures or meeting customer needs, HFS members have shown their commitment to delivering high quality places for people to live during what remain difficult circumstances.

“With the judges now set to embark on the site visit and interview stage of the process, I am very much looking forward to seeing these submissions come to life and to the difficult task of deciding upon the winners.”


Latest Issue

BDC 315 : Apr 2024